Skip to main content

Editorial Board


Susie Ho, Monash University, Australia, PhD

Sarah A. Green, Professor Emerita, Michigan Technological University, USA, PhD

Founding Editor-in-Chief
Peter Newman, Curtin University, Australia, PhD, Dip EST, AO


Associate Editors

P.C. Abhilash, Banaras Hindu University, India, PhD, FNASc, FNAAS
Biodiversity and conservation

Sali Jayne Bache, Monash University, Australia, B.Sc (Hons), PGDip EIA, PhD (ANU), GAICD
Climate change

Jaivime Evaristo, University of Georgia, USA, PhD
Land use and resource management; Biodiversity and conservation

Michele Filippo Fontefrancesco, Catholic University of Milan, Italy, PhD
Economy and policy

Oliver Lah, TU Berlin, Germany, PhD
Urban sustainability; Climate change

Mike Mouritz, Curtin University Sustainability Policy Institute, Australia, PhD
Land use and resource management

Andrea Pieroni, University of Gastronomic Sciences, Pollenzo, Italy, PhD
Food security and agriculture

Baiba Prūse, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, Netherlands, PhD
Community and education

Lucy Richardson, Monash University, Australia, PhD, MBR, GDPS, BEng(Env)
Climate Change; Land Use and Resource Management

Juliana Subtil Lacerda, Pompeu Fabra University, Spain, PhD


Editorial Board

Jaume Albertí, UNESCO Chair in Life Cycle and Climate Change, Spain, PhD
Saleem Ali, University of Delaware, USA, PhD
Tim Beatley, University of Virginia, United States of America, PhD
Gillian Bowser, Colorado State University, USA, PhD
Marie Claire Brisbois, Utrecht University, Netherlands, PhD
Yakubu Bununu, Ahmadu Bello University, Nigeria, PhD
Ed Challies, University of Canterbury, New Zealand, PhD
Sarah Cornell, Stockholm Resilience Center, Stockholm University, Sweden, PhD
David Crookall, Université Internationale de la Mer & Université Côte d'azur, France, PhD
Heleen de Coninck, Radboud University, Netherlands, PhD
Cheryl Desha, Griffith University, Australia, PhD
Prof. em Peter Droege, University of Liechtenstein, Liechtenstein, DI MAAS
Chrisna du Plessis, University of Pretoria, South Africa, DSc, PhD 
Yang Fu, Shenzhen University, China, PhD
Denis Hayes, Bullit Foundation, USA, BA, JD
Bronwyn Hayward, Canterbury University, New Zealand, PhD
Malone-Lee Lai Choo, National University of Singapore, Singapore, PhD
Melissa Low, National University of Singapore, Singapore, LLM, MSc, BSocSci
Barbara Norman, University of Canberra, Australia, PhD
Prof. Dr. Marcus Nüsser, University of Heidelberg, Germany, PhD
Denise Reike, ETH Zürich, Switzerland, PhD
Aromar Revi, Indian Institute of Human Settlements, India, LLB MBA MTech
Ruth Shortall, University of Iceland, Iceland, PhD
Asif Iqbal Siddiqui, Curtin University Sustainability Policy Institute, Australia, PhD
Giles Thomson, Blekinge Institute of Technology (BTH), Sweden, PhD
Arjen Evert Jan Wals, Wageningen University, Netherlands, PhD
Xiaoling Zhang, The University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong, PhD


Article Types

Sustainable Earth Reviews accepts the following article types:

- Analysis
- Systematic Review 
- Systematic Review Protocol
- Guidelines
- Debate
- Commentary


Annual Journal Metrics

  • Speed 2023
    Submission to first editorial decision (median days): 14
    Submission to acceptance (median days): 70

    Usage 2023
    Downloads: 150,498
    Altmetric mentions: 53

Institutional membership

Visit the membership page to check if your institution is a member and learn how you could save on article-processing charges (APCs).

Funding your APC

Open access funding and policy support by SpringerOpen​​

​​​​We offer a free open access support service to make it easier for you to discover and apply for article-processing charge (APC) funding. Learn more here